Montana State University

« Return to Calendar View Day | Month | Year

American Indian Heritage Day

Friday, September 27, 2013, from 11:00am to 2:00pm
Michael P. Malone Centennial Mall

Montana State University will observe American Indian Heritage Day with a variety of events scheduled on MSU's Centennial Mall from 11 a.m. - 2 p.m. Friday, September 27.

Montana State University will officially kick-off American Indian Heritage Day on Thursday, September 26 with a Native Comedy Showcase featuring two up and coming Native American comedians, Kasey Nicholson and Christian Take Gun Parrish, from 7:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m. in Reid Hall, Room 202 on the MSU campus.

The festivities will resume on Friday at 11 a.m. in which the events, paying tribute to the cultural legacy and societal contributions of Native American people in Montana and the U.S., will include dance demonstrations, musical performances as well as traditional games stations.

Christian Takes Gun Parrish, a member of the Apsaalooka Nation, and Kasey Nicholson, a member of the White Clay Nation and MSU alum, will be the Master of Ceremonies for the events, which will begin with a tipi raising on the Malone Centennial Mall.

President Waded Cruzado will welcome visitors and participants, while former MSU professor and member of the Turtle Mountain Chippewa, Dr. Wayne Stein will provide opening remarks followed by performances by the Bobcat Singers, traditional flute music by Kasey Nicholson, and Native Hip Hop Performer, Supaman. Game stations, with a number of traditional games from tribes indigenous to the Rocky Mountains will be available for participants to take part in courtesy of the Museum of the Rockies.

The program is free and open to the public. For additional information, contact Scott Zander at 994-4880.

MSU American Indian Heritage Day is sponsored by the MSU Office of the President in conjunction with the American Indian Council, the Diversity Awareness Office, the Museum of the Rockies, the Department of Native American Studies, the College of Letters and Sciences and The Year of Engaged Leadership.